Sunday, 26 February 2012

Film: Sound It Out!

A distinctive, funny and intimate film about the very last surviving vinyl record shop in Teesside, in the North East of England. Over the last five years an independent record shop has closed in the UK every three days. A cultural haven in one of the most deprived areas in the UK, SOUND IT OUT  documents a place that is thriving against the odds and the local community that keeps it alive. Directed by Jeanie Finlay who grew up three miles from the shop.The film depicts the irreplaceable role music plays in our lives..High Fidelity with a Northern Accent. Highly Recommended!


Get the DVD Here.

Sunday, 19 February 2012

Kinshasa Superbad

Following on from the DRC Music  Kinshasa 1.2 concept LP dropped last year by Damon Albarn, Warp Records  & Oxfam, there now comes a new musical documentary 'Congotronics vs. Rockers' an evolving cast of 10 Congolese musicians and 10 members of various indie-rock bands who've come together to record and play live gigs across the world. Filmmaker Pierre Laffargue has chronicled the Superband - which includes members of Konono N°1, Deerhoof, and Wildbirds &  Peacedrums plus Juana Molina and others..A project conceived by Marc Hollander and Vincent Kenis from Crammed Discs in Belgium.Here's the first glimpse of the promo Reel.

Here you check out the Congolese members of the live group on their way to last years Fuji Rock festival in Naeba, Japan.

Saturday, 18 February 2012


The Actaeon EP is the 2nd to drop in 2012 from our Favorite Netlabel CUT, they are really becoming prolific. Now on their 10th release this time brought to you by label curator DFRNT, and provides a showcase of his recent stylings of clean-cut minimal intricacies, infinite synth stabs and mellow vocal work with a suitable helping of bass when required. This EP showcases a slightly alternative side to the producers work with 3 originals and 2 remixes in a clear shift in tempo, albeit with emotion, melodies and musical sensibility that sits well in the labels discography. Free Download

Tuesday, 14 February 2012

A Prince Mix by DāM-FunK

The ever brilliant Wax Poetics magazine is on it's 50th Issue and tenth anniversary and to celebrate reaching the milestone they have enlisted the also brilliant "Ambassador of Boogie Funk" DāM-FunK to mix a Prince special with a free download (click on down arrow) kool is that! Essential for bumpin' in ya wheels!

1. Prince & the Revolution - 17 Days (original version)
2. DāM-FunK - 17 Days (D-F Re-Freak)
3. Prince - Irresistible Bitch (Props Re-Edit)
4. Prince (featuring Andre Cymone & Pepe Willie) - One Man Jam
5. Prince - Wet Dream Cousin
6. Prince - Dirty Mind (1981 Live Version)
7. Prince - Soft & Wet (original version)
8. Prince - Ballad Of Dorothy Parker (D-F Extended Re-Edit)
9. Prince - Sticky Like Glue (Props Re-Edit)
10. Prince & the Revolution - All My Dreams

Tuesday, 7 February 2012

Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Brainfeeder Mix

The FREEbies keep coming, A 22 track Brainfeeders exclusive mix compilation of amazing beatz from artists on the LA label of Flying Lotus including tracks from Austin Peralta, TokiMonsta, Mono/Poly, Thundercat, Daedelus, Dorian Concept, MatthewDavid, Lorn, Samiyam, The Gaslamp Killer, Ras G, Teebs and an exclusive download from Lapalux celebrating a recent Label Of The Year award...Put together by Zhahn Ruh with a couple of tracks of his own.This is a killer mix, grab it while you can!....HERE.